Latest Blog Posts

Dafoe Book Prize Shortlist 2024

May 9, 2024 / Ariel Gordon / Book Prize

The J.W. Dafoe Foundation is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2024 J.W. Dafoe Book Prize.

The winner of the prize, now valued at $12,000, will be named June 10.

2024 Shortlist

Leo Baskatawang. Reclaiming Anishnaabe Law: Kinamaadiwin Inaakonigewin and the Treaty Right to Education. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press.

Ed Broadbent with Frances Abele, Jonathan Sas and Luke Savage. Seeking Social Democracy: Seven Decades in the Fight for Equality. Toronto: ECW Press Ltd.

Kristin Burnett and Travis Hay. Plundering theNorth: A History of Settler Colonialism, Corporate Welfare, and Food Insecurity. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press.

Ken McGoogan. Searching for Franklin: New Answers to the Great Arctic Mystery. Toronto: Douglas & McIntyre.

John Vaillant. Fire Weather: The Making of a Beast. Toronto: Alfred A. Knopf Canada.

Our thanks go to jurors Dale BarbourCatherine Cook, and Gregory Mason.

The prize memorializes John Wesley Dafoe, one of the most significant Canadian editors of the 20th century. It is one of the richest book awards for exceptional non-fiction about Canada, Canadians and the nation in international affairs. In his tenure at the Manitoba Free Press, later renamed the Winnipeg Free Press, from 1901-1944, Dafoe was known for his advocacy of western development, free trade and national independence.

This is the the 40th anniversary of the book prize. Celebrate with us!

Tags: ,

Comments are currently closed.