Latest Blog Posts

Dafoe Book Prize Longlist 2024

April 17, 2024 / Ariel Gordon / Book Prize

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of the J.W. Dafoe Book Prize, we are pleased to announce that this year, there will be a longlist and a shortlist before the winner is announced.

Our thanks to jurors Dale BarbourCatherine Cook, and Gregory Mason.

2024 Longlist


Over the coming weeks, we will be highlighting each of these longlisted titles.

We will be announcing the 5 shortlisted books on May 9.

The winner of the J.W. Dafoe Book Prize, now valued at $12,000, will be named June 10.

The prize memorializes John Wesley Dafoe, one of the most significant Canadian editors of the 20th century. It is one of the richest book awards for exceptional non-fiction about Canada, Canadians and the nation in international affairs. In his tenure at the Manitoba Free Press, later renamed the Winnipeg Free Press, from 1901-1944, Dafoe was known for his advocacy of western development, free trade and national independence.

Tags: ,

Comments are currently closed.