J.W. DAFOE FOUNDATION

c/o 529 Fletcher Argue, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB R3T 5V5 Email: andrea.rounce@umanitoba.ca www.dafoefoundation.ca

Board of Directors

Dr. Christopher Adams, Chair

Ms. Catherine Auld

Dr. Karine Levasseur

Mr. James Ripley

Dr. Michael Benarroch

Mr. Paul Samyn

Ms. Madeleine Dafoe

Mr. Eric Stefanson

Ms. Sheila Grover

Mr. David Wright

Honorary Secretary

Dr. Andrea Rounce

December 15, 2020

The John Wesley Dafoe Foundation is once again pleased to solicit submissions for its annual Book Prize. The 2021 Dafoe Book Prize, valued at \$10,000.00, will be awarded to a publication with a 2020 imprint ". . . for distinguished writing by Canadians, or authors resident in Canada, that contributes to the understanding of Canada, Canadians, and/or Canada's place in the world." Co- or multiple authored books are eligible, but not edited books consisting of chapters from many different authors.

A nominal submission fee of \$50 per entry is required. Publishers and individuals are encouraged to submit their entries (four copies for each nominee), with the appropriate submission fee in cheque form payable to the J.W. Dafoe Foundation and forwarded to Dr. Andrea Rounce, Honorary Secretary, The Dafoe Foundation, c/o 635 Oakenwald Avenue, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 1M3 by **Wednesday January 13th, 2021**. This date has been extended to reflect our unusual circumstances this year. Please note that late entries for books published in later November and December will be accepted into the new year, as long as we are advised that they are coming.

Formal announcement of the short list happens in early March 2021, followed by the announcement of the winner in late March. We hope that the Prize will be formally awarded to the author(s) at the Annual J.W. Dafoe Book Prize dinner in late spring.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at andrea.rounce@umanitoba.ca.

Yours sincerely,

Andrea Rounce, Honorary Secretary

Indrea Rounce